TPMS Calibration - 2019 Honda Insight Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-16-2018, 08:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
TPMS Calibration

Im not a fan of the factory options for wheels on the insight.

Can I fit the insight with aftermarket wheels and still operate the TPS system? IF so How is this accomplished?
Ukturf is offline  
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 09-16-2018, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 52
The Insight and the Civic use a TPMS system that doesn’t require a tire sensor. Instead it looks at the wheel RPM. You can reset the TPMS from the information display after you change tires/wheels
Ukturf likes this.
sleewa is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-16-2018, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Johudso7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 44
TPMS Calibration

I’ve done the TPMS calibration in the settings twice now but have yet to see any data on the instrument panel or the HondaLink App telling me the pressure of each tire. Am I dong something wrong? Is it when designed to display the individual tire pressure anywhere?

2019 Honda Insight Touring | White Orchid Pearl | Black Leather | 15% Tint

Johudso7 is offline  
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-16-2018, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 312
based on the manual, I think it's just an indicator if a tire might be low. It will tell you which tire(s) are affected.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-10-16 at 4.41.10 PM.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	189.8 KB
ID:	356   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-10-16 at 4.40.54 PM.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	195.3 KB
ID:	358   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-10-16 at 4.40.47 PM.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	360  

2019 Lunar Silver Insight Touring (#7,483)
mgldan is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-16-2018, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Johudso7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgldan View Post
based on the manual, I think it's just an indicator if a tire might be low. It will tell you which tire(s) are affected.

I read that but from what things were showing on the website, it looked as if the HondaLink App should show each individual tire pressure. Maybe not on this particular model... Which I find odd. Being a hybrid, you strive to achieve superior fuel economy and having properly inflated tires are part of making that happen. Odd.

At least I know nothing's wrong with it.... Working exactly as it should.
Johudso7 is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-18-2018, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 522
[QUOTE=Johudso7;2694]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgldan View Post
based on the manual, I think it's just an indicator if a tire might be low. It will tell you which tire(s) are affected.

I read that but from what things were showing on the website, it looked as if the HondaLink App should show each individual tire pressure. Maybe not on this particular model... Which I find odd. Being a hybrid, you strive to achieve superior fuel economy and having properly inflated tires are part of making that happen. Odd.

At least I know nothing's wrong with it.... Working exactly as it should. [IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.gen3insight.com/forum/images/NO_BRAND/smilies/tango_face_smile.png[/IMG][/QUOTE

Yeah it's looking like they skipped the actual readings on this one and all it does is let you know when you have low pressure.

No matter where you go, there you are. Check out my Insight YouTube channel Verdier400. Or catch me at http://www.bitchute.com/verdier400
Verdier is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 06:12 PM
Super Moderator
 
andrew28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,176
Garage
TPMS Calibration

I went into the vehicle settings after adjusting tire pressure, and started the tpms calibration. I'm not sure if I did it correctly because the software doesn't provide any feedback/confirmation that the calibration has started. After I hit the calibrate button, it just goes back to the vehicle settings menu.


Anybody here have any experience using the tpms calibration?
andrew28 is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 06:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 3,058
I think a message only shows up if the "calibration failed to start." If that failure message comes up, the instruction is to re-select the calibration options and try again. Otherwise, the calibration finishes automatically after 30 min of 30-60 mph driving.
andrew28 likes this.
insightfully is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 01-17-2019, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 522
Agreed. That's how it responded to me when I recalibrated.
andrew28 likes this.

No matter where you go, there you are. Check out my Insight YouTube channel Verdier400. Or catch me at http://www.bitchute.com/verdier400
Verdier is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-30-2019, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N. Central Wisconsin
Posts: 49
Just swapped tires out summer to winter... just plopped them off and plopped the winter set on... no codes thrown

Although I did get a TPMS light the first week I owned the car... Learning curve that the TPMS runs off the hub and not sensors within the tire... Sure makes it nice swapping tires and not having to deal with TPMS sensors within the tire.

2019 Pearl White Insight
whiteinsight is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome