Gen 3 Insight Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using the regen braking paddles very actively for the past 2 months (since I bought my Insight). I use it when I am approaching to a full stop (traffic light, intersection) regardless if it's a downhill or not. And I will say it's helping with the mpg, not a lot but quiet enough to make you smile to see the difference!

However, I realized, if I am over certain speed like 50mph, and then try to apply the regen braking paddles, I hear a roaring sound from the engine, and it kinda makes me wonder why. If this paddles are only acting as brakes, why the engine struggles and makes the noise? Almost same noise as if you're trying to floor it after a full stop, anyone else experiencing this? Or am I not supposed to use paddles above certain speed?

·
Super Moderator
4,084 Posts
I realized, if I am over certain speed like 50mph, and then try to apply the regen braking paddles, I hear a roaring sound from the engine, and it kinda makes me wonder why. If this paddles are only acting as brakes, why the engine struggles and makes the noise? Almost same noise as if you're trying to floor it after a full stop, anyone else experiencing this? Or am I not supposed to use paddles above certain speed?
I've heard a sound like you described, though for me it was when accelerating while in a high-regen setting. I think the sound relates to the "engine-to-generator" transition happening as regen is added. To help the transition, I try to apply or release regen gradually at higher speeds.

The electric motor becomes a generator by running backwards as regen is applied. The level of regen (and paddle use) controls the degree of the motor being "generator" rather than engine. More regen means more "back-torque" applied in the reverse direction of the drive shaft, creating a net feeling of braking. It's really a complex set of transitions that are more technical than 'acting like brakes.'