Gen 3 Insight Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I'm a police officer and have been looking for a safe storage solution for my daily carry firearm as well as my duty weapon. Currently, I keep the daily carry in the center console (fits nicely) and my duty rig in the truck. I park in a secure space during the day and bring them in at night (even though I park in a secure building at night).

I'd love to find a solution to keep them both locked up securely in the car when out shopping or overnight somewhere that isn't "secure".

Yes, I know the inherent risk of keeping a firearm in a vehicle.
That's why I'm wanting to see if others have any solutions?

Ideally, I'd have a locking truck cabinet that could even hold a patrol rifle and shotgun, but I'm thinking something smaller is in order.

I was thinking something like this mounted in the truck somewhere.

Does anyone use anything or have any suggestions?

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
2019 Honda Insight EX (White Orchid Pearl)
2,758 Posts
I'd love to find a solution to keep them both locked up securely in the car when out shopping or overnight somewhere that isn't "secure".
Couldn't you store them in the trunk? Just make sure you wrap your key fob in aluminum foil and it should be secured.
Holly Hubert, a retired FBI agent who now heads the cybersecurity firm GlobalSecurityIQ, has a tip for car owners – wrap those key fobs in aluminum foil when the car isn't in use. https://www.consumeraffairs.com/news/wrap-your-key-fob-in-aluminum-to-prevent-hacking-070918.html

·
Registered
123 Posts
Hello all!

I'm a police officer and have been looking for a safe storage solution for my daily carry firearm as well as my duty weapon. Currently, I keep the daily carry in the center console (fits nicely) and my duty rig in the truck. I park in a secure space during the day and bring them in at night (even though I park in a secure building at night).