Gen 3 Insight Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I purchased an Insight Touring about four months ago and after finding this forum I realized I could learn so much! I purchased a hybrid because I wanted a car with fabulous gas mileage. I’ve been averaging 44 MPG which I thought was fantastic after getting about 25 MPG in my previous car. After reading many threads I now see I should be getting much better MPG. I live in Tucson, Arizona and do mostly in town driving. Not many huge hills but there are a few. I am just learning the difference between different driving modes and I’m still trying to figure out the different gauge displays and what they mean. I haven’t even touched the paddles. I would really appreciate any and all advice! Thank you in advance.

·
Super Moderator
4,088 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Did you buy a 2020 model?

The main thing that helps a hybrid deliver high-MPG is high voltage battery management. The more time the car spends in EV or hybrid mode (i.e. green "EV" symbol comes on in bottom left corner), the more HV battery you're using... and consequently less gas to power the car, and more 'miles traveled' per gallon of gas used. Some thoughts that come to mind:
  • If you're driving in Normal Mode, you should see some 'instant' help/benefit by driving in Eco Mode, which dampens the gas pedal response (and A/C). It will 'feel' different (sluggish?) if you're used to Normal Mode, but it will help with MPG.
  • What % of driving time is spent on highway, and at what speed? The Insight's city MPG rating is higher than its highway MPG rating, and highway speeds over ~65 mph deliver even lower-than-rated results. Could you be 'undoing' your city MPG average results by driving >65 mph?