Gen 3 Insight Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,068 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am I the Only One Exceeding EPA MPG Estimates?

I've only had my Insight for about a week. I've been on vacation, so today was the first time I've driven it to work - about 100 miles round trip.

For a goof, I put it in Eco mode and drove conservatively. It's mostly downhill going from NNJ to SNJ, so I wasn't surprised about the MPG when I got to work, but when I got home, the trip said I'd gotten 62 MPG for the entire r/t. Is this normal? I'm not complaining. Either I'm an awesome newbie hybrid driver, or I've got the golden Insight.

Which is it? Does anyone else have numbers like this? My first tank drove about 350 miles and only took about 6 gallons to refill. This was without even knowing the subtle nuances of hybrid driving.

I seem to be getting roughly DOUBLE the MPG of the 1999 Civic I traded for the Insight!

·
Registered
132 Posts
Wow! To increase your MPG even more, you can also use the paddle shifters when approaching a stop or going downhill. The left one will increase the regenerative charging beyond the default amount. I'm using this feature more and more when approaching a stop or going downhill. It should add at least 2-3 mpg more to what you are getting.

I'm averaging the 55 mpg in town even though the A/C is running full blast all the time since it's an unusually hot summer here in eastern Washington. In July drove from Missouri where I purchased it to Houston and then to Spokane (our home), a total of 3,000+ miles and got 44.5 mpg. However, once again A/C was running full blast plus we were flying through much of Utah and Montana at 83-85 mph since the posted speed limit is 80 mph there.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Wow that’s awesome for sure. My first trip to work the day after purchase I got 54.6MPG in normal mode with A/C on my commute is mostly highway where speed limit is 70. I used paddle shifters for hills and lights.