Gen 3 Insight Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picking up my Cosmic Blue EX in 2 weeks. I'm interested in tinting the windows but know nothing about it. What is the process? What are the laws (PA), can I choose how dark and what is normal? Which windows?

·
Super Moderator
1,068 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Most reputable shops will be able to show you the limit in their store. I highly recommend springing for the high end stuff, it makes a massive difference vs the more cosmetic lower end films.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Any shop will put on anything you ask them to, off the books.

But don't do 5% all around, it's dreadful at night.

I have 35% front(max legal limit for KS) and 50% the rest. It makes a huge difference in temperate locations.

Attachments

·
Registered
455 Posts
I’m new to aftermarket window tinting. Do they take into account that the factory windows are already tinted when figuring out how much additional tint to add and still be legal?

·
Super Moderator
3,327 Posts
I’m new to aftermarket window tinting. Do they take into account that the factory windows are already tinted when figuring out how much additional tint to add and still be legal?
To start with some definitions... the tint percentage represents the amount of visible light transmission (VLT) through the windows.
- The lower the percentage, the darker the window film will be (e.g. 35% tint = 35% of visible light passing through)
- The 70% factory tint is very light as it lets through 70% of visible light.
- Factory window tint is a pigment within the glass, so factory tint doesn't interfere with the application of tint film.

To calculate the end/expected VLT % result after tint film is applied, you'd multiply the starting factory tint % by the film tint %. So applying a 35% film to factory glass with 70% existing tint would have a combined final VLT of 24.5% (0.35 x 0.70).